Which F1 driver has the most wins at Miami GP?


As we gear up for the second edition of the Miami GP, let us take a look who won the inaugural edition and which driver has the most wins at Miami GP?

The inaugural champion of any event always goes down in the history books with special recognition and it’s no different in F1. Some of the legends of the sport have been crowned as the inaugural winners of various Grands Prix and Miami got its very own first champion in 2022. Let us take a look at how the drivers fared in the previous edition of the Miami GP and who bagged the ultimate glory.

Max Verstappen French GP
Max Verstappen

Max Verstappen registered an emphatic victory in the 2022 edition of the Miami Grand Prix. The Red Bull driver not only recorded the fastest lap timing during the course of the race, but he was also miles ahead of the rest of the pack in terms of the finish timings. The Ferrari duo of Charles Leclerc and Carlos Sainz occupied the second and third spots on the podium respectively. Sergio Perez, followed by Mercedes’ drivers George Russell and Lewis Hamilton occupied the other spots in the top six.

Verstappen qualified for the main race in third spot behind Leclerc and Sainz but we showed his class when it mattered the most. The Dutch driver’s timing of 1:31.361 in his Red Bull RB18 is the fastest lap time at the Miami circuit till date.

Max Verstappen has absolutely dominated F1 in recent years

Max Verstappen has come a long way since 2015 when he made his debut in the F1 World Championship. He has absolutely dominated Formula One in the last couple of years and continues to do so even in the ongoing season. The two-time F1 champion has notched up more wins in the last two years (26) than closest rivals Ferrari in the last ten years (23). This is an astounding achievement for Verstappen and establishes his dominance in the F1 circuit. Even in the 2023 season, the Dutchman has registered two wins in four races so far while Ferrari are yet to win a single race.

Max Verstappen celebrates after taking pole position during qualifying for the 2021 French GP
Max Verstappen

Red Bull and Verstappen’s dominance was pretty evident last season as well as both cruised to the Constructors’ and Drivers’ Championship titles respectively without much of a challenge from their nearest rivals.

In the 2022 season, Verstappen registered a record 15 grand prix victories and also the most Driver of the Day awards. The Dutchman even won the driver of the day award five times in 2022, courtesy of early-season successes in Imola and Miami and later in Hungary, Belgium and the Netherlands.

He has started the 2023 season in a similar fashion, winning the season-opener in Bahrain, a second-place finish in Saudi Arabia followed by another win in Australia and a second-place finish in Azerbaijan.

More Formula One News

Follow our dedicated Formula One page for instant Formula One news and updates