WWE NXT preview: NXT will name the winners of several awards from 2019

WWE NXT preview: The first NXT of 2020 will be a special episode looking back at the madness that was 2019.

This was the year when NXT made a proper splash in the mainstream WWE shows. The third brand has often been seen as the younger sibling of SmackDown and Raw but Survivor Series changed that all.

Triple H
Triple H is one of the best to have wrestled in WWE (Image credit: Getty)

Triple H should be thanked for allowing the NXT stars to compete against the SmackDown and Raw wrestlers, and it was the Yellow brand that won the pay-per-view easily.

The latest NXT might not provide a lot of new wrestling action, but it will hand out several awards for the 2019 performances.

The best of NXT

Fans can still vote for their favourites to win several NXT awards and here is a list of all that will be up for grabs:

  • Tag Team of the Year
  • Breakout Star of the Year
  • Future Star of the Year
  • Match of the Year
  • Rivalry of the Year
  • TakeOver of the Year
  • Overall Competitor of the Year
  • Male Competitor of the Year
  • Female Competitor of the Year

There have been several incredible performers this year with Rhea Ripley, Keith Lee, Adam Cole and Shayna Baszler grabbing eyeballs.

NXT UK stars have also been nominated for some of the awards with Walter in the running to win the Male Competitor of the Year.

Dusty Rhodes Tag Team Classic

The winners of the Dusty Rhodes Tag Team Classic are given a shot at the NXT tag titles at TakeOver: New York, and it will be interesting to see the teams that are named for the 2020 edition.

Finn Balor WWE NXT Preview
Finn Balor addresses the WWE universe at NXT (Image credit: WWE)

Last year, the pairing of Ricochet and Aleister Black won the Dusty Rhodes Tag Team Classic but couldn’t win the gold against the War Raiders (Viking Raiders).

More WWE news

Finn Balor & Samoa Joe were the first winners of the Classic while The Authors of Pain and The Undisputed Era (Adam Cole and Kyle O’Reilly) were the other champions.

Follow our dedicated WWE page for instant WWE news and updates