Who won the last Mexico City Grand Prix (2022)?


As we approach this weekend’s Mexico City Grand Prix, let us take a look at how things turned out in the last edition in 2022 – who won it?

The 2022 Mexico City Grand Prix was hosted on the 30th of October at Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez in Mexico City, Mexico. This event served as the 20th round of the 2022 Formula One World Championship and represented the 22nd occurrence of the Mexican Grand Prix, now going by the name Mexico City Grand Prix for the second time. The race saw Max Verstappen, the reigning champion, emerge victorious, with Lewis Hamilton securing the second position and Sergio Pérez finishing in third place.

F1 Mexican GP weather
F1 Mexico City Grand Prix – Who won the last edition?

Taking place over the weekend of October 28th to 30th, the event represented the twentieth round of the 2022 Formula One World Championship. By the start of this weekend, the Drivers’ and Constructors’ titles had already been determined in previous races, specifically, the Japanese and United States Grands Prix. Max Verstappen was leading the Drivers’ Championship with 124 points, followed by Charles Leclerc in second with 126 points, and teammate Sergio Pérez in third. In the Constructors’ Championship, Red Bull Racing was ahead with a lead of 187 points over Ferrari and 240 points over Mercedes.

All the drivers and teams remained consistent with the season’s entry list, and there were no additional stand-in drivers for the race. However, during the first practice session, some temporary replacements were made. Pietro Fittipaldi, Logan Sargeant, Liam Lawson, and Nyck de Vries stepped in for Haas (replacing Kevin Magnussen), Williams (replacing Alexander Albon), AlphaTauri (replacing Yuki Tsunoda), and Mercedes (replacing George Russell) respectively. Additionally, Jack Doohan made his Formula One practice debut by substituting for Esteban Ocon at Alpine during the same session.

Max Verstappen is the most successful F1 driver at the Mexican Grand Prix

Max Verstappen’s performance in Mexico is truly remarkable, as he has secured four victories at the Mexican Grand Prix, establishing himself as one of the most accomplished drivers in this event. Jim Clark also notched up three wins, although one occurred in a non-World Championship race. Excluding this non-Championship win, Clark shares his total of two victories with esteemed Formula 1 icons such as Alain Prost, Nigel Mansell, and Lewis Hamilton. Verstappen’s consistent success in Mexico can be attributed to his exceptional driving skills and the strategic prowess of the Red Bull Racing team. The Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez’s high-altitude environment necessitates precise car setup adjustments due to reduced air density, and Max’s ability to adapt his driving style to these unique conditions has been commendable.

Max Verstappen French GP
Max Verstappen

Verstappen’s racing style, characterized by its blend of aggression and calculation, proves advantageous on the tight and winding Mexico City circuit. His proficiency in overtaking opportunities, combined with a remarkable ability to handle high-pressure situations without major mistakes, underscores his enduring mental resilience throughout his racing career.

Moreover, Max’s close collaboration with the Red Bull Racing team is a pivotal element in his Mexican Grand Prix success. The team consistently provides him with a competitive car and formulates meticulously planned race strategies. Their expertise in optimizing tire management and timing of pit stops holds particular significance in a race where tire wear is a critical factor. This collective effort significantly bolsters Max’s chances of victory at the Mexican Grand Prix.

Who are the most successful F1 teams at the Mexican Grand Prix?

The Mexican Grand Prix has seen various successful constructor teams over the years. Red Bull leads the pack as the most successful team at the Mexican GP, boasting four victories. Not far behind are Lotus, McLaren, Williams, and Mercedes, each with three wins to their credit. It’s interesting to mention that if we include Jim Clark’s non-championship win, Lotus’s total count also reaches four wins.

Most F1 wins in a row
Red Bull

Red Bull has undeniably left a substantial mark on the Mexican Grand Prix. Their innovative chassis design and focus on aerodynamics have solidified their reputation as a dominant presence in this race. With the legendary Max Verstappen at the forefront of their team, Red Bull has consistently been a formidable contender for victory, earning a dedicated fan base in Mexico along the way.

Mercedes, too, has asserted its dominance in the Mexican Grand Prix. Their powerful engines and cutting-edge aerodynamics have given them a substantial competitive edge. Over the years, Mercedes has secured numerous wins and podium finishes, firmly establishing themselves as one of the top constructor teams in this race.

More Formula One News

Leave a comment