Caroline Garcia broke a lot of English hearts when she ousted the home favorite Emma Raducanu in the second round of the recently-concluded Wimbledon Championships. Now, the 28-year-old has defeated a rampaging Iga Swiatek in her home country of Poland.

Caroline Garcia (Twitter)

Caroline Garcia defeated the likes of Misaki Doi and Elisabetta Cocciaretto to progress to the quarter-final stage of the ongoing Poland Open. She had her task cut out as the world No. 1 Iga Swiatek was her next opponent. Swiatek was the overwhelming favorite going into the match with 18 successive victories on clay court.

However, a dominating performance from the Frenchwoman set the tone for the upset. She just lost one game in set one. Swiatek fought back in the second set and this time Garcia failed to win more than one game. The final set saw a much more even contest and Garcia eventually won 6-4. The final score – 6-1, 1-6, 6-4 in favor of Garcia.

“She is a star!” – Twitter reactions to Caroline Garcia’s big win

The Twitter world praised Caroline Garcia for her win. Fans of Iga Swiatek also appreciated Garcia for her gritty performance.

caroline garcia
Caroline Garcia

Who is Caroline Garcia’s opponent in the semi-final?

Garcia takes on Jasmine Paolini of Italy in the semi-final. Paolini is ranked 58 at the moment and will be looking forward to win her second singles title at the Poland Open.

Jasmine Paolini (Twitter)

The 26-year-old began her campaign with a comprehensive 6-1, 6-1 wi over Danka Kovinic. Paolini had to fight hard in her next two matches against Clara Burel and Viktorija Golubic in the following two rounds. Both matches were decided in the third set.

Caroline Garcia and Jasmine Paolini have faced each other on a couple of occasions. The former has won both times. Their last meeting was at the 2022 Lausanne Ladies Open and Garcia won the match in straight sets 6-3, 6-3.

More Tennis news

Follow our dedicated Tennis page for instant Tennis news and updates


Taylor Swift


Travis Kelce

Timothée Chalamet

Tom Holland

Novak Djokovic

Michael Jordan

LeBron James

Tom Brady

Lewis Hamilton