Top 5 Longest Title Reigns In WWE History – Is Roman Reigns in Top Spot?


WWE has a history of some of the greatest world champions in history. Great names like Hulk Hogan, The Rock, The Undertaker, and Stone Cold Steve Austin have been the world champions. But who has the longest title reign in WWE?

As the WWF has progressed over the years, they have added multiple World Championships. But from 2002, there had been only three significant championships. The World Heavyweight Championship, which is now turned into a single WWE Championship, along with that, is the Universal Championship in 2016.

hulk Hogan 2
One of the greatest wrestlers of the modern era

Here is the list of the Top 5 longest title reigns in WWE history from the golden generation of WWF/E

5) AJ Styles, who held the WWE Championship for 371 days

AJ Styles is one of the best in-ring performers of the current generation. Unfortunately, not many people know this, but AJ Styles appeared in WWF in 2002, declining the developmental contract.

AJ Styles is a two-time WWE Champion
AJ Styles has won multiple titles during his time with WWE (WWE)

AJ Styles made his debut for WWE in 2016 and, in his second WWE Championship capture, came after beating Jinder Mahal and starting one of the most giant reigns, which lasted for more than a year.

Syles got the victory when SmackDown happened in Manchester. He went on to become the longest-reigning champion in SmackDown history and defended his title against Shinsuke Nakamura. Kevin Owens, John Cena, and Sami Zayn.

His title reign was ended by Daniel Bryan. Syles title reign was for 371 days.

4) John Cena held the WWE Championship for 380 days

John Felix Anthony Cena aka, John Cena, is arguably regarded as one of the best pro wrestlers and performers. Cena is a 16-time WWE Champion and is tied with WWE Hall of Famer Ric Flair.

WWE Champion John Cena says he has no plans to retire from the ring | WWE  News | Sky Sports
John Cena is a sixteen-time world Champion (sky sports)

Cena’s longest WWE Championship reign came in 2006 when Cena defeated Edge at Unforgiven in one of the best TLC matches ever to win the WWE Championship. 

The Attitude Adjustment defended his title against top pro wrestlers and Hall of Famers like Chris Jericho, Randy Orton, Kurt Angle, Triple H. During this reign, he even broke the undefeated streaks Umaga and The Great Khali.

At WrestleMania 23, he was very close to losing the title to The Heartbreak Kid Shawn Michaels, but in a very fierce matchup, Cena somehow got over the line and defended his title.

In October 2007, in Monday Night Raw, Cena suffered a torn pectoral muscle against Mr. Kennedy. It would put him out of action for several months, forcing Cena to strip off the title. Thus ending his reign as a WWE Champion of 380 days.