Who won Miami Open 2022?


As the ATP 1000 event, Miami Open 2022 comes to an end in Florida, let us take a look at the winners in each category

Tennis fans across the globe were treated to some amazing displays of tennis over the last two weeks in Florida. The Hard Rock Stadium was at its vibrant best while the audience witnessed the best players in the world taking on each other. The Miami Open 2022 was certainly an incredible experience for the players and fans alike. As the second event of the ‘Sunshine Double’ comes to an end, let us take a look at all the winners from each category.

The men’s singles final was played between Spain’s Carlos Alcaraz and Norway’s Casper Ruud. The teenager, Alcaraz came out on top against the sixth seed 7-5, 6-4 to clinch the men’s singles crown.

In the women’s singles final, Iga Swiatek dominated the 4-time Grand Slam Champion, Naomi Osaka to win the match in straight sets 6-4, 6-0. With this win, Iga Swiatek has made it 2 in 2 at the Sunshine double. She had earlier won the women’s singles title at the Indian Wells Masters.

Hubert Hurkacz and partner John Isner pulled off an upset in the men’s doubles final to win the title. The pair defeated 6th seeds Wesley Koolhof and Neal Skupski 7-6, 6-4 to clinch the crown. The last match of the tournament was the Women’s Doubles final which once again witnessed a major upset. The unseeded pairing of Vera Zvonareva and Laura Siegemund got the better of top seeds Elise Mertens and Veronika Kudermetova 7-6, 7-5 in a thrilling final to win the title.

Past Winners of Miami Open

The winners of this edition of Miami Open join an illustrious list of winners comprising legends of the sport. The champions from the previous edition in 2021 are Hubert Hurkacz (Poland) in Men’s Singles, Ashleigh Barty (Australia) in Women’s Singles, Nikola Mektic & Mate Pavic (Croatia) in Men’s Doubles and Shuko Aoyama and Ena Shibahara (Japan) in Women’s Doubles. Let us take a look at the most successful players in the history of Miami Open.

In the Men’s singles competition, Novak Djokovic and Andre Agassi are the joint-most successful players having won the title six times each. Roger Federer has won it four times while Pete Sampras has won the title three times.

Serena Williams is by far the most successful player in the women’s singles category. The American has won the title eight times ahead of Steffi Graf who won it five times. Serena’s sister Venus Williams has won the title thrice as has Victoria Azarenka. The current World No. 1 Ashleigh Barty is a two-time champion of the Miami Open, winning both of the last two editions.

2020 Australian Open Day 3 1580972864
38-year old Serena Williams will be playing her fourth decade as a US Federation Cup player when her side takes on Latvia. (Getty Images)

The legendary American brothers Mike and Bob Bryan have dominated the men’s doubles category winning the title six times while Martina Hingis has won the women’s doubles title four times, with different partners.

More Tennis news

Follow our dedicated Tennis page for instant Tennis news and updates