The inaugural edition of the United Cup will take place in the summer of 2023 in Australia and it will be replacing the ATP Cup.

Team Canada celebrates after winning the 2022 ATP Cup (Steven Diez – Twitter)

What is the United Cup?

National teams will be seen in action at the United Cup and some of the best players on the tour will be seen in action at the mixed warm-up event that will take place prior to the Australian Open.

How many teams will be competing in the 2023 United Cup?

18 nations will go into the tournament seeking the honor of becoming the first-ever United Cup champions. Each nation will have four men and four women coming together to form a team.

What is the format of the 2023 United Cup?

The countries will be split into six pools of three teams each. There will be a semifinal and a final in Sydney to crown the champions.

Each team will play two men’s singles matches and two wdoubleomen’s singles matches and one mixed dsportsoubles match in the group stage.

Dates and Venues of the United Cup

The group-stage encounters will be held between December 29 to January 4. The top four teams that will progress from the round-robin stage will be seen in action in Sydney between January 6 to 8.

The United Cup will be held in three cities – Brisbane, Perth, and Sydney. This is another change from the ATP Cup which was exclusively held in Sydney.

Two separate groups, each having three teams will be stationed in each city and there matches will be held in that particular city.

Method of Selection for the teams

Out of the 18 countries participating in the event, 12 countries will be selected from the nations of the top six men’s and women’s players, as per the ATP and WTA rankings.

The remaining 6 teams will qualify based on combined men’s/women’s rankings.

The Prize Pool

There is a hefty prize pool of $15 million up for grabs and therefore, getting some much-needed practice will not be the sole reason for the players to compete in the tournament.

All the Nations that have qualified for the tournament so far

We have 16 teams lined up so far for the competition. Group A consists of Greece, Belgium, and a country that will be confirmed in some days. Group F features France, Croatia, and Argentina. The matches of these 2 groups will be held in Perth.

Similar to Group A, Group B has two confirmed teams in Poland and Switzerland while another team will be confirmed shortly. Group E has Italy, Brazil, and Norway pitted against each other. They will have their matches in Perth.

In Sydney, Group C and Group D will be stationed. Group C consists of USA, Germany, and Czech Republic. Group D features Spain, Australia, and Great Britain.

Where to watch the United Cup?

Nine have the rights to broadcast the 2023 Summer of Tennis and this also includes the Australian Open. So the tennis lovers in Australia will get to see the action from the United Cup live and exclusive on Nine.

We still have some time before the commencement of the tournament and therefore, we will get further details regarding the broadcast soon. However, it is highly likely that the action will be televised on Channel 9 and streamed via 9Now.

Let’s take a look at how the teams line up

Group A

Team Greece

Male playersFemale Players
Stefanos TsitsipasMaria Sakkari
Michail PervolarakisDespina Papamichail
Stefanos SakellardidisValentini Grammatikopoulou
Petros TsitsipasSapfo Sakellaridi

Team Belgium

Male PlayersFemale Players
David GoffinElise Mertens
Zizou BergsAlison van Uytvanck
Kimmer CoppejansMagali Kempen
Michael GeertsKirsten Flipkens

Another team to be confirmed later..

Group F

Team France

Male PlayersFemale Players
Arthur RinderknechCaroline Garcia
Adrian MannarinoAlize Cornet
Manuel GuinardLeolia Jeanjean
Edouard Roger-VasselinJessika Ponchet

Team Croatia

Male PlayersFemale Players
Borna CoricPetra Martic
Borna GojoDonna Vekic
Matija PecoticTara Wurth
Petra Marcinko

Team Argentina

Male PlayersFemale Players
Diego SchwartzmanNadia Podoroska
Francisco CerundoloMaria Carle
Federico CoriaPaula Ormaechea
Andres Molteni

Group B

Team Poland

Male PlayersFemale Players
Hubert HurkaczIga Swiatek
Kamil MajchrzakMagda Linette
Daniel MichalskiWeronika Falkowska
Lukasz KubotAlicja Rosolska

Team Switzerland

Male PlayersFemale Players
Stan WawrinkaBelinda Bencic
Marc-Andrea HueslerJil Teichmann
Dominic Stephan StrickerYlena In-Albon
Alexander RitschardJoanne Zuger

Another team to be confirmed later..

Group E

Team Italy

Male PlayersFemale Players
Matteo BerrettiniMartina Tresvisan
Lorenzo MusettiLucia Bronzetti
Andrea VavassoriCamila Rosatello
Marco BortolottiNuria Brancaccio

Team Brazil

Male PlayersFemale Players
Thiago MonteiroBeatriz Haddad Maia
Felipe Meligeni AlvesLaura Pigossi
Matheus Pucinelli de AlmeidaCarolina Alves
Rafael MatosLuisa Stefani

Team Norway

Male PlayersFemale Players
Casper RuudUlrikke Eikeri
Viktor DurasovicMalene Helgo
Andreja PetrovicLilly Haseth

Group C

Team USA

Male PlayersFemale Players
Taylor FritzJessica Pegula
Fraces TiafoeMadison Keys
Denis KudlaAlycia Parks
Hunter ReeseDesirae Krawczyk

Team Germany

Male PlayersFemale Players
Alexander ZverevLaura Siegemund
Oscar OtteJule Niemeier
Daniel AltmaierAnna-Lena Friedsam
Fabian FallertJulia Lohoff

Team Czech Republic

Male PlayersFemale Players
Jiri LeheckaPetra Kvitova
Tomas MachacMarie Bouzkova
Lukas RosolJesica Maleckova
Dalibor Svrcina

Group D

Team Spain

Male PlayersFemale Players
Rafael NadalPaula Badosa
Pablo Carreno BustaNuria Parrizas Diaz
Albert Ramos-VinolasJessica Buzas Maneiro
David Vega Hernandez

Team Australia

Male PlayersFemale Players
Nick KyrgiosAj;a Tomljanovic
Alex de MinaurZoe Hives
Jason KublerMaddison Inglis
John PeersSam Stosur

Team Great Britan

Male PlayersFemale Players
Cameron NorrieHarriet Dart
Dan EvansKatie Swan
Jan ChoinskiAnna Bogdan
Johnny O’MaraElla McDonald

More Tennis news

Follow our dedicated Tennis page for instant Tennis news and updates


Novak Djokovic beaten only by players wearing glasses






Knicks player kemba