On one hand where Dak Prescott was side-lined for the first few weeks due to his thumb surgery, Micah Parsons was one pillar which held the Cowboys intact on the defensive end. While many expected them to suffer from a major blow, their defensive unit kept their hopes alive and in some fine fashion.

Micah Parsons and Dak Prescott
Micah Parsons and Dak Prescott

In the latest victory for the Cowboys against the Bears, Micah Parsons was finally able to notch his first score on a career score on a 36-yard fumble recovery. Moreover, he was also clocked topping out at 20.5mph. This made sports media personality – Skip Bayless vouch for the former’s case for DPOY accolade.

Skip Bayless wrote in his tweet, “Micah Parsons doesn’t have dominating stats, but he’s gaining momentum for Defensive Player of the Year. Is it deserved?”

Can Micah Parsons win the DPOY accolade in 2022-23 season?

To make everyone aware, Micah Parsons is the only player in the league with at least 275 snaps on the line and 20 at line-backer.

To justify this claim, take a look at this stat – as per ESPN Stats & Information, the 23-year-old has averaged 11.4 snaps per game at inside line-backer this season. Furthermore, Micah Parsons has 325 snaps on the line as an outside line-backer or edge player and eight times at defensive tackle.

Micah Parsons
Micah Parsons

Given that the Dallas Cowboys would not be giving their hopes up to make a deep run in the playoffs, as long as Micah Parsons is able to perform at the same rate. Jerry Jones’ team is 6-2 after the first 8 weeks of the 2022-23 regular season, they trail behind Philadelphia Eagles in the NFC East, the only team who are undefeated to this date.

Also Read: “I AM NOT INTERESTED IN COACHING”- Shannon Sharpe makes his stance clear about his future

Also Read: “The Browns just OWN Joe Burrow”-Skip Bayless is left impressed by the Cleveland Browns’ dominating win over the Bengals

Also Read: Reports: Los Angeles Rams rejected multiple trade offers for running back Cam Akers


Taylor Swift


Travis Kelce

Timothée Chalamet

Tom Holland

Novak Djokovic

Michael Jordan

LeBron James

Tom Brady

Lewis Hamilton