Has Lewis Hamilton won Le Mans 24 Hours? How many F1 drivers have won it?


Only a handful number of drivers have won both the F1 and 24 hours of Le Mans titles – let us take a look at them, has Lewis Hamilton won it?

Lewis Hamilton 24h of Le Mans
Lewis Hamilton 24h of Le Mans

Formula 1 superstar Lewis Hamilton has achieved an impressive joint-record of seven World Drivers’ Championship titles. He also boasts multiple Formula 1 records, including the most wins (103), pole positions (104), and podium finishes (196).

Beyond his racing accomplishments, Hamilton has played a vital role in expanding Formula One’s global fan base, appealing to a wider audience through his high-profile lifestyle, environmental and social activism, as well as his involvement in music and fashion. He’s gained recognition as a prominent advocate for combatting racism and pushing for increased diversity in motorsport. Despite his remarkable achievements, Lewis Hamilton has never clinched the 24 Hours of Le Mans title.

Lewis Hamilton
Lewis Hamilton

The Le Mans 24 Hours and Formula 1 represent two distinct realms of motorsport. The former is an endurance race where the objective is to endure for an extended duration, covering substantial distances in cars resembling those on public roads, operated by teams. In contrast, Formula 1 is a high-speed sprint series featuring purpose-built cars raced by individual drivers. Despite these marked disparities, a number of Formula 1 drivers have successfully made the transition and excelled in both Formula 1 and the Le Mans 24 Hours. Let’s explore some of the Formula 1 stars who have achieved victories in both Formula 1 and the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

5. Jochen Rindt – Jochen Rindt participated in the Le Mans race four times, competing in the endurance event from 1964 to 1967. Similar to Hill and Hill, Rindt’s Le Mans experiences were characterized by either victories or retirements. Unfortunately, in his first Le Mans race, he retired without completing a single lap. Rindt was widely recognized as the ‘King of F2,’ showcasing his ability to compete with and defeat some of the best drivers in the world. Despite his initial Formula 1 breakthrough win not occurring until 1969, Rindt ultimately became the first and, hopefully, the only posthumous Formula 1 world champion.

24 h of Le Mans
24 hours of Le Mans

4. Phil Hill – Phil Hill’s history at the Le Mans 24 Hours was marked by stark contrasts. In his 14 appearances, he either claimed first place three times or failed to finish (DNF) in the remaining 11 races. Hill also had a successful Formula 1 career, securing three wins and one championship title in 1961, the same year as one of his Le Mans victories. His Formula 1 triumph was achieved with the renowned sharknose Ferrari 156.

3. Mike Hawthorn – Mike Hawthorn achieved the distinction of becoming the first driver to secure championships in both Formula 1 and Le Mans, with his victory at Le Mans preceding his Formula 1 title. He claimed the Formula 1 title in 1958, tragically passing away in a road traffic accident the following year. In a closely contested Formula 1 season, he managed to clinch the championship with just one win compared to Stirling Moss’s four victories. Hawthorn’s advantage came from his ability to finish more races, having retired from only two, while Moss retired from five. This consistency allowed Hawthorn, along with his Ferrari 246, to secure the championship by a mere one-point margin.

2. Graham Hill – Graham Hill stands as the sole individual to have accomplished motorsport’s prestigious Triple Crown, which includes triumphs at The Indianapolis 500, the Le Mans 24 Hours, and the Monaco Grand Prix. The year following his Formula 1 world championship victory with BRM, Hill claimed the first of the three required victories for the Triple Crown at Monaco in 1963. Often referred to as “Mr. Monaco,” he went on to secure five wins in the principality. Hill had prior involvement in the Le Mans 24 Hours, participating nine times, with his best performance being a second-place finish in 1964, although he trailed the winner by nearly five laps.

Fernando Alonso
Fernando Alonso celebrating a podium finish (F1)

1. Fernando Alonso – Fernando Alonso, a two-time Formula 1 world champion, established his reputation in the Le Mans 24 Hours by claiming consecutive titles in 2018 and 2019. His quest for the prestigious racing Triple Crown, an achievement only accomplished by Graham Hill, led him to compete in Le Mans in 2018. In his first attempt, racing alongside Sebastien Buemi and Kazuki Nakajima, Alonso contributed to Toyota’s long-awaited victory at Le Mans. On the Formula 1 circuit, Alonso is recognized as one of the sport’s most experienced and seasoned drivers. In the 2023 season, he got off to a remarkable start, securing five podium finishes out of seven races.


Lewis Hamilton has not won the 24 Hours of Le Mans title. Despite his numerous achievements in Formula 1, Hamilton has not ventured into endurance racing and clinched the prestigious Le Mans victory.

More Formula One News

Follow our dedicated Formula One page for instant Formula One news and updates

Leave a comment