Lewis Hamilton has been granted honorary Brazilian citizenship ahead of this week’s Brazilian Grand Prix

Toto Wolff took to Twitter to congratulate Lewis Hamilton and express his delight after the Mercedes driver was granted honorary Brazilian citizenship. Wolff and Hamilton are very close friends and colleagues who have worked with each other at Mercedes for close to a decade. Wolff is understandably elated that Hamilton has been presented with this unique honor and didn’t hold back his feelings while congratulating the British driver.

In his official statement, Wolff said: “Today is a special moment for Lewis, who just became an honorary citizen of Brazil. Being recognised and celebrated by the birthplace of Ayrton Senna illustrates the true dimension of his incredible achievements.” The Mercedes boss further added: “From each of us Lewis, we’re so proud of you. Thank You for everything we have accomplished together so far – we’re motivated and excited for what’s to come.”

Lewis Hamilton is overwhelmed by the honour conferred to him by Brazil

Seven-time F1 World champion Lewis Hamilton has been awarded honorary citizenship of Brazil in the capital city of Brasilia. In 2008, Lewis Hamilton won the first of his seven Formula 1 championship at the Brazilian Grand Prix. Last year, after winning the Interlagos race, it was announced that the Brazilian government could grant him honorary citizenship, and he has finally received it.

20221108 151146
Credits: Twitter

Hamilton absolutely loves Brazil, and he is elated after receiving honorary citizenship. Speaking at the ceremony at Brazil’s chamber of Deputies, Hamilton said: “I feel like I am now one of you. I have so many incredible memories of Brazil. And in particular from 2021. Knowing that you guys would cheer me on along the way was one of the most special moments of my entire life. I’m looking forward to our continued efforts.”

Lewis Hamilton French GP
Lewis Hamilton after winning the Brazilian GP (The Hindu)

Lewis Hamilton will gun for his fourth win at the Brazilian GP this weekend. He has already won it three times before – in 2016, 2018, and 2021.

More Formula One News

Follow our dedicated Formula One page for instant Formula One news and updates


Taylor Swift


Travis Kelce

Timothée Chalamet

Tom Holland

Novak Djokovic

Michael Jordan

LeBron James

Tom Brady

Lewis Hamilton