The Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace is the home of the Brazilian GP and will host the race once again this weekend

The Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace, also known as the Interlagos Circuit, was opened 82 years ago in 1940. It is an FIA Grade 1 circuit with a maximum crowd capacity of 60,000, located in the Brazilian city of Sao Paulo. Initially known only as the Interlagos Circuit, it was renamed in 1985 to honor the Formula 1 driver José Carlos Pace, who died in a plane crash in 1977. The circuit has hosted all the Brazilian GP races since 1972.

20221107 104634 1
Credits: F1

The traditional name of the circuit used to be Interlagos Circuit. The former name was derived from its neighbourhood itself as it was located in a region between two large artificial lakes, Guarapiranga and Billings – ‘Interlagos’. The name of this region was suggested by the French architect and urban planner Alfred Agache after the Interlaken region located in Switzerland.

Who are the most successful drivers at the Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace?

Alain Prost is the most successful driver in the history of the Brazilian Grand Prix and at this circuit, having won the race a record six times. McLaren are the most successful constructors, having registered twelve wins in this GP. Valtteri Bottas’ lap timing of 1:10.540, while driving a Mercedes W09 in the 2018 Brazilian Grand Prix is the official race lap record at this GP.

prost 1032506
Credits: Google Images

Regarding the current grid, Sebastian Vettel and Lewis Hamilton are the joint-most successful drivers on this circuit. Both have won this GP thrice. In the last edition of this Grand Prix in 2021, Bottas took pole position but failed to convert it into a race win. Hamilton won the race with Verstappen and Bottas finishing second and third respectively.

More Formula One News

Follow our dedicated Formula One page for instant Formula One news and updates


Taylor Swift


Travis Kelce

Timothée Chalamet

Tom Holland

Novak Djokovic

Michael Jordan

LeBron James

Tom Brady

Lewis Hamilton