in , ,

Full Asia XI announced for T20I clashes against World XI

India, with six players, has the maximum representation in the 15-member Asia XI squad for the upcoming friendly T20I’s

Virat Kohli and KL Rahul are among six Indians selected for the Asia XI T20 side that will face the World XI.

The mega-event is being hosted by the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB). Both sides will be facing each other in two T20I before the commencement of the upcoming IPL season.

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli in action during an ODI against New Zealand (Getty)

The matches are being organised by the BCB. This is part of the celebrations to commemorate their country’s founding father Sheikh Mujibur Rahman’s 100th anniversary.

Joining the likes of Kohli and Rahul from the Indian side will be Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Kuldeep Yadav and Mohammed Shami.

Asia XI
India’s Virat Kohli and KL Rahul during a recent game. (Getty Images)

India have the maximum number in the squad that has 15 members as confirmed by the BCB.

No players from Pakistan included

However, no player from Pakistan has made it to the 15-member squad that has four Bangladesh players, two each from Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, and one from Nepal.

Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, and Mushfiqur Rahim and Mustafizur Rahman are from Bangladesh. Sandeep Lamichhane is the only player from Nepal.

The likes of Rahul, Dhawan, and Tamim offering the Asia XI side plenty of options in the opener’s role.

Rahul is capable of playing lower down the order – something which he proved in the recent T20 series against New Zealand.

Asia XI
Mohammed Shami (left) and Kuldeep Yadav (centre) in action (Getty Images)

The squad has a formidable middle order that includes Kohli, Rahim and Sri Lanka’s Thisara Perera.

Nepal’s Sandeep Lamichhane and Mujeeb Ur Rahman from Afghanistan are the other spinners. Lasith Malinga leads the pace attack, while Shami and Mustafizur Rahman are the others.

Asia XI squad: KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Tamim Iqbal, Virat Kohli, Liton Das, Rishabh Pant, Mushfiqur Rahim, Thisara Perera, Rashid Khan, Mustafizur Rahman, Sandeep Lamichhane, Lasith Malinga, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Mujeeb Ur Rahman

More cricket news:

Follow our dedicated cricket page for instant updates and news

We are on Telegram. Our Channel Daily Dose Of Cricket is created for our community to always be informed on Cricket. Get Fantasy tips, Video Highlights, Exclusive Interviews, and much more directly on your Telegram.