in , , ,

Indian Premier League 2020 to welcome several new rules

ipl 2020

The move was confirmed by BCCI President Sourav Ganguly on Monday following a board meeting ahead of IPL 2020.

For the first time, the Indian Premier League (IPL) will witness the introduction of two new rules – first one on concussion substitutes and the other on TV umpires calling no balls.

The move will come into effect, starting this year in the IPL 2020 edition and was confirmed by BCCI President and former Indian captain Sourav Ganguly on Monday.

“The concussion substitute and the no-ball rule are new additions for the season,” Ganguly was heard saying to the reporters following a board meeting (h/t Outlook).

BCCI President Sourav Ganguly addresses media persons on Monday. (Getty Images)

The TV umpire calling no balls is not something new to Indian cricket having tested the same during India’s T20 series at home against the West Indies back in December last year.

From late Australian cricketer, Phil Hughes to Indian wicket-keeper batsman Rishabh Pant, cricket has seen players suffering from concussion after being hit by a ball despite taking precautionary measures.

Pant recently had to be taken from the ground midway into the match against Australia after being hit by a bouncer by Pat Cummins.

Indian wicket-keeper batsman Rishabh Pant was recently hit by a Pat Cummins bouncer in his side’s game against Australia in Mumbai. (Getty Images)

The new rule on the concussion-substitute has been activated in the wake of such events which has witnessed numerous cricketers suffering concussions which at times has led to life-threatening situations, like in the case of Hughes.

Many cricketers off late have gone through such instances which seemed to have triggered the BCCI to come up with the new rule which totally prioritises the safety of the players.

Dates and fewer double-headers

The new move has arrived a little late in India with the concussion rule having already come to effect in international cricket since August 2019.

Meanwhile, Ganguly also announced that the 13th edition of the IPL will kick off on March 29 and that the final would be conducted at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on May 24.

Ganguly also confirmed that the timings haven’t changed for the IPL and there would be fewer double headers.

“There will be no change in the timing of IPL night games. It will start from 8 pm like earlier years,” Ganguly told reporters after the IPL Governing Council meeting. “We will have only five double headers (4pm and 8 pm) this time. We have decided to reduce the number of double headers,”

More cricket news

The IPL is also set to have an “all star” game before the start of the competition featuring the best players from across the world.

Follow our dedicated cricket page for instant cricket news and updates

Naomi Osaka Instagram

“I can’t”- Naomi Osaka pays emotional tribute to former NBA star Kobe Bryant

Sarfaraz Khan

(Watch) Sarfaraz Khan smashes seven fours off two overs for Mumbai