in , ,

5 Indians feature in Robin Uthappa’s ODI Team of the Decade

Robin Uthappa named five Indians in his ODI Team of the Decade

India star Robin Uthappa named five teammates as part of his star-studded ODI Team of the Decade.

At the end of 2019, many former cricketers have been giving their best XI of the decade. The latest to join the bandwagon is out-of-favour Indian keeper-batsman Robin Uthappa.

Uthappa, who plays for Kerala in domestic cricket, decided to pick 5 Indians in his ODI team of the decade (from 2010-2019).

Robin Uthappa
Robin Uthappa is known for his stint with the Kolkata Knight Riders (Image credit: AFP)

Uthappa picked Rohit Sharma and Chris Gayle as his openers of the side, surprisingly leaving out Australia’s David Warner. There was, however, no surprise in the No.3 of his side as Uthappa picked India captain Virat Kohli.

While his middle-order has names like Ab de Villiers and Steve Smith, he has banked upon MS Dhoni and Yuvraj Singh to finish the games for the team.

Captain Cool leading the team

He picked MS Dhoni as the leader of his side. The keeper stepped down as captain of India from Tests in 2015 and limited overs in 2017.

However, he still remains one of the most successful captains in the world. India won the World T20 2007, ODI World Cup in 2011 and the Champions Trophy in 2013 under Dhoni.

Uthappa picked England’s Ben Stokes as his seam-bowling all-rounder, while former India medium-pacer Zaheer Khan will play as a specialist pace bowler.

MS Dhoni
MS Dhoni has led India to the 50 over and 20 over World Cup (Image credit: Getty)

Former New Zealand captain Daniel Vettori and Sri Lanka’s Lasith Malinga also find themselves in the playing XI.

While Sharma is arguably the best opening batsman in limited-overs cricket at the moment, Gayle’s inclusion is debatable as wasn’t an active ODI player throughout the decade.

In 96 ODIs that he played in this decade, the Jamaican scored 3,051 runs at an average of 33.52 and a strike rate of 99.15.

More cricket news

Uthappa’s ODI Team of the Decade: Rohit Sharma, Chris Gayle, Virat Kohli, Steve Smith, AB de Villiers, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni (C & WK), Ben Stokes, Daniel Vettori, Zaheer Khan, Lasith Malinga.

Follow our dedicated cricket page for instant cricket news and updates

We are on Telegram. Our Channel Daily Dose Of Cricket is created for our community to always be informed on Cricket. Get Fantasy tips, Video Highlights, Exclusive Interviews, and much more directly on your Telegram.