Alex Doolan decided to offer a no shot and was given out LBW but the ball seemed to be missing the stumps
Offering a no shot in any form of cricket is risky business, and Alex Doolan learned that the hard way in a Sheffield Shield match.
The Australian last played for the national side in 2014 and is known more for his work in List A cricket.
The 34-year-old normally opens for his Tasmania team, and they were already under pressure against South Australia.
Tasmania made just 254 runs in their first innings with Doolan notching up 37. The saviour for the team was Simon Milenko who scored a 100 off 134 balls.
South Australia, for their part, racked up 346 in 96 overs with Jake Weatherald scoring 126 and Alex Carey making 73.
Tasmania were trailing by close to 90 runs and things were made tougher on the final ball of the day.
Nicholas Winter had picked up two wickets in the first innings and delivered a harmless looking ball to Doolan.
However, the Tasmania batsman decided not to offer a shot and the ball hit his pads. The umpire had no hesitation in giving it out as Doolan was left flummoxed by the decision.
The South Australia players celebrated wildly but replays suggested that the ball could have missed the stumps.
Several fans highlighted that the umpire made a howler, but what’s done is done and Doolan is out.
Risk doesn’t equal reward
Leaving a delivery towards the off stump only works when you are certain that the ball will not nip back.
That was not the case for Doolan, and it will be interesting to see how Tasmania deal with such an early blow.
Cricket is a game of judgement and fine margins, and this was just an example of how things can go wrong.
Batsmen don’t have too many chances when plying their trade in an innings. However, a bowler can come back after getting smashed around the park.
Doolan is experienced enough to know that leaving the ball carried a risk. But, the umpire also did no favours to the batsman.
Follow our dedicated cricket page for instant cricket news and updates